top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLarry G

Childhood Revisited

It was a book-shopping Saturday for the family. We all loaded into the minivan and headed off to our favorite used bookstore in the flea market. Bookstore visits are a highlight in our days for this bookish family.


I don't remember exactly how hot it was this particular Florida Saturday, but this was likely one of the "Let's try not to spend more than an hour here because it's hot" trips. Yeah, we measure these trips in time, not dollars spent. We typically don't have any particular book in mind. We like to go in and float around to see what catches our eyes. I left the kids with my wife and just started wandering. Remember this: Not all who wander are lost.


I meandered around for nothing in particular. I ended up in the young adult section (which isn't unusual for me). I had found another interesting book on the top shelf over there at one time and liked to check it out. It was similar to that secret fishing hole your dad took you to as a youngster. I was not disappointed when I spied a copy of "Swallows and Amazons" neatly tucked away.


I know with certainty that I said "OH!!!" out loud. My right arm seemed to move of its own volition and rather quickly. I snatched the book off the shelf and gently caressed the cover. While typing this, I have a picture of Gollum in my mind as he protects the one ring. I imagine that I may have had that look on my face. I finally had a copy of a book that I had seen recommended probably hundreds of times in my Facebook literary groups.


I had no idea about the plot of "Swallow and Amazons." I knew that it was a book many people loved, and if that many people loved it, then it was probably worth my time to read and possibly read to my children. We made our purchases, including the treasure I had found in the young adult section.


The book sat on my shelf for a few months before I decided to read it. We had just come through a particularly rough few weeks, and I wanted something light and easy to read. After scanning my messy bookshelves a while, I spied this one amid many others I have yet to read. I am pretty sure I said, "OH!" again.


"Swallows and Amazons" was written by Arthur Ransome in 1929. It is a masterful telling of the summer adventures of John, Susan, Titty, and Roger. They are the crew of the sailboat Swallow. Their friends Nancy and Peggy comprise the pirate crew of the sailboat Amazon. The story follows the children of the Swallow as they set out to camp on a "deserted island" they have discovered in the middle of the lake at which they are spending the summer.


The crew of the Swallow land on the deserted island and thus begin their adventure. They enlist the help of the "natives" to get milk and other essentials to survive. They face a war with the Amazon crew and ally with them to battle Captain Flint. They face storms, a scuffle with the houseboat pirate, and find a "treasure." All of this and more in the space of a week.


This story is a reminder of the innocence and imagination of children. I couldn't help but smile as I recalled memories of my childhood adventures in the hills, creeks, and on the river where I grew up. Ransome gives us a peek into his memories of his childhood in this fun and engaging story. He brings to light the beauty of growing up and children.


I was surprised to find out that there is a museum that has Arthur Ransome's desk and his favorite books. Another museum has a restored Amazon on display. There is also the "Arthur Ransome Society" established in 1990 "with the aim of celebrating his life and books, and to encourage both children and adults to take part in adventurous pursuits – especially climbing, sailing, and fishing." (Quoted from the back page of the book.)


We all need what this book will give. We need a reminder of how childhood should be: full of adventure, fun, and imagination. We need a reminder of how our childhood years were. Read this book. Enjoy the adventure. "Long live the Swallows and Amazons!"


Larry

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Ended Up with Two Copies.

I finally found a copy of Fall of Giants, book one of the Century Trilogy, and somehow ended up with two. So much for checking LibraryThing to make sure I had it before I bought it. I saw the second b

There's Always Another Secret

I sit down to write this review and realize this is quite the task. How does a person "review" Brandon Sanderson? What can I say about him that hasn't already? I am certainly late to the Sanderson pa

This Book Shook Me

Upon finishing "The Giver" by Lois Lowry, I had a feeling of loss. Loss may not be the correct word. I had no sense of how to process what I had just read. I was stunned and a little sad. And, please,

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page